Andalusia GP: Pole for Quartararo, Rossi in 4th place


Yamaha star Maverick Viñales took the lead early in the decisive Q2, in the third round he reduced his best time to 1: 37.102 min. At halfway through the 15-minute session, he was 0.187 seconds ahead of Pecco Bagnaia (Pramac Ducati) and 0.207 seconds ahead of Spain GP winner Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha). Rookie Brad Binder was fourth, 0.494 seconds behind the provisional pole time, while his Red Bull KTM team-mate Pol Espargaró only found himself in eleventh place after the first run and thus a place behind Valentino Rossi.

The starting line-up for the “Gran Premio Red Bull de Andalucía” should only be decided in the final five minutes: World Cup leader Quartararo made the start and replaced his brand colleague in first place in 1: 37.007 minutes. Pol Espargaró, on the other hand, crashed in Turn 2.

Bagnaia improved his personal best, but remained in 3rd place. Miguel Oliveira moved up to 4th place, but was soon replaced by Rossi! Nakagami’s last attempt, previously briefly in fifth place, ended with a ride in the gravel bed of Turn 13, but the Japanese stayed on his Honda.

Viñales was pleased with the pole position at the last minute, but the 1: 36.907 min was canceled because the Spaniard had exceeded the “track limits” in turn 7. Thus Quartararo remained at the forefront. Remarkable: The top 3 separated only 0.169 sec.

Meanwhile, Repsol Honda officially confirmed that Marc Márquez will no longer be on the track on Sunday after coming back to the pits in Q1 after the “out lap”.

Andalusien-GP, MotoGP, Q2:

1. Quartararo, Yamaha, 1: 37,007 min
2. Viñales, Yamaha, 1:37,102
3. Bagnaia, Ducati, 1: 37.176
4. Rossi, Yamaha, 1: 37,342
5. Oliveira, KTM, 1: 37,344
6. Morbidelli, Yamaha, 1: 37.412
7. Miller, Ducati, 1:37,423
8. Nakagami, Honda, 1:37,464
9. Binder, KTM, 1: 37,596
10. Mir, Suzuki, 1: 37,600
11. Petrucci, Ducati, 1: 37.906
12. Pol Espargaró, KTM, 1: 40,277

The further starting line-up:

13. Crutchlow, Honda, 1: 37,644
14. Dovizioso, Ducati, 1: 37.656
15. Zarco, Ducati, 1: 37.761
16. Aleix Espargaró, Aprilia, 1: 37,885
17. Lecuona, KTM, 1: 38,206
18. Rabat, Ducati, 1: 38,211
19. Smith, Aprilia, 1:38,310
20. Rins, Suzuki, 1:38,601
21. Alex Márquez, Honda, 1: 38,648


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here