World goalkeeper of the year 2020: Neuer celebrates double title premiere


World goalkeeper of the year 2020
Neuer celebrates double title premiere

DFB captain Manuel Neuer is the first German to be elected FIFA World Goalkeeper of the Year. The 34-year-old FC Bayern captain prevailed against Jan Oblak from Slovenia and Allison Becker from Brazil at the “The Best” gala.
Manuel Neuer from FC Bayern was honored as a FIFA world goalkeeper after the triple season. The 34-year-old captain of the German record champions prevailed against the Brazilian Alisson Becker from the English champion Liverpool FC and the Slovenian Jan Oblak from Atlético Madrid in the free program of the world association.

“This is one of the best years in my entire career. What we achieved in 2020 is wonderful. We are very happy about it,” said Neuer, who was live at the ceremony like his competitors.

As a support, Neuer played a key role in the extraordinary year of FC Bayern: champions, DFB Cup winners, Champions League winners, plus titles in the German and European Supercup. In his glorious career, the 2014 world champion received this individual Fifa trophy for the first time.

In the previous year, Alisson was named world goalkeeper. The award, introduced in 2017, was also won by the Belgian Thibaut Courtois and Gianluigi Buffon from Italy. Previously, the world goalkeeper had not been officially recognized, only a goalkeeper had been appointed to the team of the year.

In the choice of the world goalkeeper, the votes of the captains and head coaches of national teams, journalists and fans were equally decisive. Voting was possible until December 9th. As another German national player, Marc-André ter Stegen from FC Barcelona was selected by a jury from among the six candidates. In the choice of the world goalkeeper, the French Sarah Bouhaddi was chosen by Olympique Lyon.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here