Men’s slalom in Cortina d’Ampezzo

Double world champion Marco Schwarz is also one of the top favorites in the World Championship slalom on Sunday.

Double world champion Marco Schwarz is also one of the top favorites in the World Championship slalom on Sunday.

© The  2021 World Ski Championships in Cortina d’Ampezzo will be the last World Cup race on Sunday with the men’s slalom. Will it be the golden day for Austria (Marco Schwarz, Manuel Feller, Adrian Pertl, Michael Matt) get the Swiss (Ramon Zenhäusern, Daniel Yule, Loic Meillard, Luca Aerni) the world championship title, after the race we hear the Marseillaise (Alexis Pinturault, Clement Noel), or board the Vikings (Sebastian Foss-Solevaag, Henrik Kristoffersen) the pedestal. Germany’s bearer of hope is called Linus Strasser and all of Italy is hoping for two dream runs from Alex Vinatzer.

All information about the World Cup men’s slalom on Sunday can be found here

Austrian favorites

Austria has won a record of 16 gold medals and a record of 41 total medals in the men’s slalom. Austria’s record for the most gold medals in a country in an individual discipline is 17 in the men’s downhill. Switzerland holds the record for the most medals in an individual discipline: 42 in the men’s downhill.

At the last two world championships, Austria won five of the six possible medals in the men’s slalom. Marcel Hirscher (gold) and Manuel Feller (silver) in 2017, as well as Hirscher (gold), Michael Matt (silver) and Marco Schwarz (bronze) in 2019. © The  Austrian medal sweep in 2019 was the first of a country in Men’s slalom.

Marco Schwarz won his first world title in his career by winning the men’s Alpine Combined on Monday, February 15. ©

 The  last man to win the world title in slalom and combined in one year was Benjamin Raich in 2005.

Raich (2005) is one of six men who won the world title in slalom and combined in the same year, but the only one who has succeeded in this since the early 1970s.

Schwarz has won five World Cup medals since 2019, more than any other man at the last two World Cups combined.

In the 2020/21 World Cup, black was on the podium in seven of the nine men’s slalom races. Both Schwarz (2 wins) and Manuel Feller (1) achieved their first World Cup victories in slalom this season.

In addition to his silver medal in slalom 2019, Michael Matt also won Olympic bronze in this discipline in 2018.

Michael Matt can follow in the footsteps of his older brother Mario Matt, who won the men’s slalom at the 2001 and 2007 World Championships (including the 2014 Olympics).

More contenders

Mathieu Faivre won the men’s giant slalom on Friday. Nine men made the double of slalom and giant slalom at the same world championship. Marcel Hirscher (2017) was the only one who succeeded in this in the last 25 years.

Clément Noël and Alexis Pinturault could become the sixth Frenchman to win the men’s slalom world title and the first since Jean-Baptiste Grange in 2015.


 The  only French who won this discipline at the World Championships before his 24th birthday was Jean Noël Augert (20 years old) in 1970. Noël will be 24 years old in May this year.

Pinturault has already won individual World Championship medals in giant slalom, super-G and in the alpine combination. Only Benjamin Raich, Kjetil André Aamodt, Lasse Kjus and Marc Girardelli already have medals in slalom, giant slalom, Super-G and in the men’s alpine combination.

Only Émile Allais (8) has won more World Cup medals among the French than Pinturault (6).

Henrik Kristoffersen and Sebastian Foss-Solevåg can join Stein Eriksen (1954), Kjetil André Aamodt (1993) and Tom Stiansen (1997) as the only Norwegian world champions in men’s slalom.


 The  last Norwegian to win a medal in this discipline at the World Championships was Lasse Kjus (silver) in 1999.

Kristoffersen won the world title in the men’s giant slalom in 2019, his only world championship medal to date. He can become the tenth man to win world titles in both slalom and giant slalom, and the third Norwegian after Aamodt and Eriksen.

Ramon Zenhäusern won Olympic silver in the men’s slalom in 2018. ©

 The  last Swiss skier to win a World Championship medal in this discipline was Silvan Zurbriggen (silver) in 2003.

Swiss skiers have won the men’s slalom world championship five times, but not since Georges Schneider in 1950.

Loïc Meillard is the first Swiss since Pirmin Zurbriggen (4) in 1987 to win three individual World Championship medals in one year.

Linus Straßer wants to be the first German skier since Frank Wörndl in 1987 (for West Germany) to win the men’s slalom at the World Cup. Since then, German skiers have collected five medals in this discipline (G0-S3-B2), most recently a bronze medal from Felix Neureuther in 2017.

Dave Ryding could become the first Briton to stand on the podium at a world championship. For the women, Great Britain achieved 11 medals (G4-S4-B3), all in the 1930s.

[ source link ]

Mens slalom Cortina dAmpezzo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here