WhatsApp reacted to this – by speaking badly to the other messengers and setting a new ultimatum: May 15th. But what happens to the accounts of users who do not agree to the new rules, including the controversial data transfer to Facebook, by then?
No reading, no writing
WhatsApp has now published information in its service area. Accordingly, the WhatsApp account will not be deleted for the time being if you do not agree to the new rules by May 15th.
According to WhatsApp, you will receive calls and notifications “for a short time”, but you will not be able to read or write messages. This will only work again if you have agreed to the new rules.
WhatsApp does not explain how long the “short time” is. However, elsewhere on the WhatsApp website you can read that inactive accounts are deleted after 120 days. A user who does not accept the new rules and therefore cannot read or write anything could possibly be treated by WhatsApp as an inactive user and his account deleted after 120 days.