This happens if you do not accept the new terms of use

0
2



No time right now?

Facebook subsidiary Whatsapp continues to try to allay users’ concerns about the new terms of use. It is now clear what happens to those who do not accept it.

In a hasty action at the beginning of the year, Whatsapp tried to ultimately enforce new terms of use against its global user base. You should now have until February 8th to accept the conditions in order to continue using the app.

Whatsapp starts a new attempt to explain

This created an unprecedented counter-pressure, which was expressed in protests and massive emigration to other messengers such as Threema or Signal. Since then, Whatsapp has tried to limit damage and tries to explain itself.

Just on Friday we received a new press release that wanted to inform us that Whatsapp now wants to display the following banner to its users via the messenger function Status by May 15th:

Almost finished!

Please click on the link in the confirmation email to complete your registration.

Would you like more information about the newsletter? Find out more now

Whatsapp tries again. (Source: Whatsapp)

© www.de24.news The  – together with the new explanation page on the web – should now make it unmistakably clear that Whatsapp basically only introduces an improved way for companies to contact Whatsapp users and do business with them. Otherwise, Whatsapp assures not to change anything in terms of data protection – especially in terms of end-to-end encryption – and not to share contacts with Facebook, for example.

Of course, the question may be asked why the users then absolutely and above all without exception have to agree to new conditions. Even people who do not intend to communicate in any way with companies via Whatsapp are ultimately forced by the mandatory consent if they want to continue using Whatsapp. That could certainly have been solved more elegantly.

Whatsapp don’t throw you out

Techcrunch has now asked what actually happens if users do not give their consent by May 15th. An FAQ entry gives a relatively sparse answer to this: “You will receive calls and notifications for a short time, but you cannot read or send messages in the app.”

At Techcrunch’s request, the term “short time” should be interpreted as “a few weeks”. Accounts should continue to be deleted according to the previous rules, i.e. after 120 days of inactivity.

Look, we have messages for you

Specifically, this would mean that WhatsApp does not switch off the accounts of those who do not agree, but continues to deliver calls and notifications. Otherwise, the app can no longer be used.

During the period of inactivity, i.e. from May 15th if consent has not been given, Whatsapp users would theoretically have 120 days to reactivate their account. It seems unlikely that calls and notifications will be delivered for as long.

In any case, this approach no longer sounds as uncompromising as initially communicated. Whatsapp probably relies on peer pressure. Anyone who can still be called and informed about new messages could still give in and agree to the new conditions.

Most read





[ source link ]
https://t3n.de/news/whatsapp-passiert-neuen-1356885/

accept terms

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here