The new deadline is May 15, 2021, after the February deadline set at the beginning of the year caused a worldwide shit storm.
WhatsApp does not delete accounts, but significantly restricts the range of functions.
The most important function, however, disappears immediately, new messages can no longer be read and written within the app.
WhatsApp doesn’t want to lose its users, of course. It is said that every user is free to delete their own account, but you better think about it again. Deleting the account really results in the entire loss of data. For this reason, you probably want to do without the automatic deletion in order not to scare off users who might be able to change their minds later.
“Until May 15th, you can export your chat history on an Android device or iPhone and download a report on your account. In the event that you have your account […] want to delete, we hope you will reconsider. We cannot undo this process, because it will delete your chat history, you will be removed from all your WhatsApp groups and your WhatsApp backups will be deleted. “
“To maintain security, limit data retention and ensure the privacy of users, WhatsApp accounts are usually deleted after 120 days of inactivity. This means that a user has not established a connection via WhatsApp. “
via WhatsApp, Techcrunch