Motorbike: Vinales strikes at the start in Qatar



The Spaniard Maverick Vinales won the season opener in the MotoGP class on Sunday. The Yamaha rider prevailed on Sunday at the Qatar GP in Losail ahead of the two Ducatis of Johann Zarco from France (+1.092) and Francesco Bagnaia from Italy (+1.129). In the Moto3 class, Maximilian Kofler finished in the points for the first time.

In MotoGP, defending champion Joan Mir (Suzuki) came off the racing line in second place and finished fourth. Valentino Rossi had to be content with twelfth place after a strong qualifying (fourth place). Marc Marquez was still missing after his broken arm.

In the Moto3 class, the Spaniard Jaume Masia (KTM) won a photo finish ahead of his fellow brand colleague and compatriot Pedro Acosta (+0.042) and the South African Darryn Binder on a Honda (+0.094). Kofler (+15.768) took his first World Championship point in 15th place. This was followed by Michael Ranseder from Upper Austria, who rode for the French team CIP-Greenpower (KTM RC250). He was the last Austrian to write 14th points in Moto2 in 2010.


For the first time in eleven years, an Austrian scored another point in the motorcycle world championship

The perfect start for Kofler

“It was the next step in my career now. I’m really happy that it worked out in the first race of the season, ”said an“ overjoyed ”Kofler. KTM (Red Bull Ajo) celebrated a double victory. Jaume Masia prevailed over his team-mate Pedro Acosta, a Moto3 rookie.

The British Sam Lowes won the Moto2 class. The Australian Remy Gardner (+2,260) came second. Third place went to Italian Fabio di Giannantonio (+5.228). Next weekend, the second race of the season will take place on the Doha circuit before the World Cup circus travels to Europe.

Qatar GP in Losail


MotoGP (22 laps = 118.36 km):
1. Maverick Vinales ESP Yamaha 42:28,663
2. Johann Zarco FROM Ducati + 1,092
3. Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1,129
4. Joan Mir ESP Suzuki 1,222
5. Fabio Quartararo FROM Yamaha 3,030
6. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki 3,357
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Aprilia 5,934
8. Pol Espargaro ESP Honda 5,990
9. Jack Miller OUT Ducati 7,058
10. Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati 9,288
Moto3 (18 laps = 96.84 km):
1. Jaume Masia ESP KTM 38:29,620
2. Pedro Acosta ESP KTM + 0,042
3. Darryn Binder RSA Honda 0,094
4. Sergio garcia ESP Gas Gas 0,435
5. Gabriel Rodrigo ARG Honda 0,880
6. Niccolo Antonelli ITA KTM 0,899
7. Be Guevara ESP Gas Gas 0,965
8. Kaito Toba JPN KTM 1,950
9. Tatsuki Suzuki JPN Honda 2,214
10. Jason Dupasquier SUI KTM 2,219
15. Maximilian Kofler OR KTM 15,768
Moto2 (20 laps = 107.6 km):
1. Sam Lowes GBR Kalex 40:03,123
2. Remy Gardner OUT Kalex + 2,260
3. Fabio di Giannantonio ITA Kalex 5,228
4. Marco Bezzecchi ITA Kalex 5,241
5. Raul Fernandez ESP Kalex 6,145
6. Joe Roberts USA Kalex 6,786
7. Jake Dixon GBR Kalex 8,721
8. Marcel Schrötter GER Kalex 10,911
9. For Bendsneyder NED Kalex 12,493
10. Jorge Navarro ESP Boscoscuro 16,800

[ source link ]

Motorbike Vinales strikes start Qatar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here